Blog: March 2010

Design Categories

The Categories

The RCD has four design categories A, B, C and D and each (individual) craft must be placed in one (and only one) of these.  Note that because a manufacturer certifies a new craft for one category (eg B), it is not necessary for used craft of the same type to be placed in the same category for Post Construction Assessment (PCA).  In fact this may be difficult if the manufacturer refuses to disclose the required information, for example stability curves.

More on Design Categories
American Boat and Yacht Council Logo